Raised for Local Nonprofits
3188 gifts
Totaling $379,848.84
Crawford Gives
Raised for Local Nonprofits
3188 gifts
Totaling $379,848.84
Raised for Local Nonprofits
3188 gifts
Totaling $379,848.84

Northwestern PA Railroad Tooling Heritage Center

Goal: $5,000.00

Specific Need

Exterior window restoration

Mission

The Cambridge Springs Trolley Station is owned by the Northwestern PA Railroad and Tooling Heritage Center. The Heritage Center's Mission is to collect, preserve and present industrial and transportation artifacts and information at destinations that will provide an educational, historical, and recreational experience for visitors, and a reference base for researchers interested in the heritage of northwestern Pennsylvania. 

 

 

Profile

The Heritage Center took ownership of the former Cambridge Springs Trolley Station in February 2014.  Located on historic Route 6, it is listed on the national register as a contributing resource within the Cambridge Springs Historic District. Renovations have been completed to return it to its 1910 appearance while also updating the infrastructure to meet modern safety and building codes. Today it is open by apointment and available to all Cambridge Springs residents at no charge. Volunteer labor has included an electrical instructor and his students from the Crawford County Career & Technical Center installing new electrical wiring throughout the entire facility.  All work, except contracted installations of HVAC, insulation, and concrete, were done by local volunteers in their various areas of expertise.  

 

Dedicated in 1910 by the Erie Traction Company, it was once a vibrant trolley car station where thousands of people traveled to partake of the famous water at the springs.  The last trolley car quietly made its final run on September 30, 1928.  After the station was no longer useful for rail travel, Melvin Townley and his family took ownership of it, maintaining the integrity of the original structure until his death in 2008, when he asked, in his will, that it be turned into a museum.

 

The Northwestern PA Railroad and Tooling Heritage Center (Heritage Center) is a 501(c)(3) charitable non-profit community based organization.  It was established in 2006 through a partnership of the French Creek Valley Railroad Historical Society, National Tooling & Machining Association and Johnson Shaw Stereoscopic Museum.  The Crawford County Convention and Visitors Bureau and the Crawford County Historical Society support the Heritage Center through participation in activities, joint marketing and shared exhibitions.

 

 

 

Photos & Videos

$1,473.28 received
in 15 gifts
29.47%  of  $5,000.00 Goal

Contact

PO Box 72
Meadville PA 16335
Phone: 8147204288

Connect with us

Send Email

Share this page



Copyright © 2020 Crawford Heritage Community Foundation.
Website designed & hosted by Evergreen Giving Day Solutions